A church leader once prophesied that “the winds of change” were coming to my life.  Life has since taken me far from my home to follow contract job assignments.  Once a year (or less than a year) I loaded the U-Haul and moved to the next job.  I hope to settle and enjoy retirement one day.  But I am determined that where God leads me, I will follow.

 

Moses was also forced to move, as a result of being a wanted man.  Wanted for murder that is!  He moved to a quiet place where he would not be discovered by the Egyptian authorities.  Although Moses was far away, his life would take him back to his people soon.

 

And it came to pass in process of time that the king of Egypt died: and the children of Israel sighed by reason of the bondage, and they cried, and their cry came up unto God by reason of the bondage.  And God heard their groaning, and God remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac, and with Jacob.  And God looked upon the children of Israel, and God had respect unto them.  Exodus 2:23-25

 

THE PROTOTYPE

 

Moses was aware of Joseph and the promises of Abraham.  He left a royal home to become a common man in a strange land.  He had a destiny to save his people.  Does any of that sound familiar?  A KING was living as a mortal among the common people of his kingdom.  You will hear this story again in the future! 

 

THERE IS GOING TO BE A MEETING

 

And the angel of the LORD appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush: and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed.  And Moses said, I will now turn aside, and see this great sight, why the bush is not burnt.  And when the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses.  And he said, Here am I.  Exodus 3:2-4

 

DELEGATED AUTHORITY

 

God gives Moses a big assignment, to deliver Israel from bondage.  He is building a type of the future savior, who would also give up a throne to save his people.

 

And the LORD said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;  And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites,  and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.  Now therefore, behold, the cry of the children of Israel is come unto me: and I have also seen the oppression wherewith the Egyptians oppress them.  Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.  Exodus 3:7-10

 

 

A NAME OF AUTHORITY AND POWER

 

And God said unto Moses, I AM that I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.   Exodus 3:14

 

That name seemed complete enough to overcome all opposition.  It was expected to be recognized by even the Pharaoh of Egypt.  Indeed it has a power thorough all time.  It was heard again later from Yeshua:

 

Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham?   Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I AM.  John 8:57-58

 

By proclaiming himself to be “I AM” he provoked recognition and outrage in the religious leaders of his time.  They knew immediately that he was claiming to be God in the flesh.  How right they were!

 

THE HEAD, NOT THE TAIL

 

Moses had the authorization to go, and still felt less than adequate in his own abilities.  God anticipated Pharaoh’s resistance, and the hesitation of Moses.  He will establish who the real head is.

 

And I am sure that the king of Egypt will not let you go, no, not by a mighty hand.  And I will stretch out my hand, and smite Egypt with all my wonders which I will do in the midst thereof: and after that he will let you go.  And I will give this people favour in the sight of the Egyptians: and it shall come to pass, that, when ye go, ye shall not go empty.  Exodus 3:19-21

 

It was not left to Moses to make this happen.  God gave him instructions for his role, and assumed the responsibility for the hard part himself.  Moses was to stand by faith, and God was to be the faithful one.  We cannot do God’s job for him.  We can’t complain about our shortcomings, because we then question God about his job performance.  Martin Luther said “Having done all, I can but stand”.  Moses would see the power of faith manifest in power and glory soon.

 

And Moses answered and said, But, behold, they will not believe me, nor hearken unto my voice: for they will say, The LORD hath not appeared unto thee.  And the LORD said unto him, What is that in thine hand? And he said, A rod.  And he said, Cast it on the ground. And he cast it on the ground, and it became a serpent; and Moses fled from before it.  And the LORD said unto Moses, Put forth thine hand, and take it by the tail. And he put forth his hand, and caught it, and it became a rod in his hand:  That they may believe that the LORD God of their fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath appeared unto thee.  Exodus 4:1-5

 

Moses had doubts, and God had to offer him a series of assurances.  Oh ME of little faith!  How often I too stand wailing about my weakness, even after so many assurances.  And I am supposed to hear the Holy Spirit which dwells in me today!  I am the product of a mature church, washed in the blood and filled with his spirit.  Why can’t I hear him?  Perhaps I do not wait for his answer.  Do I spend the hour in the garden in prayer when his hour of need has come? 

 

Moses went on to complain about his speech problems until the Lord was angered enough to offer part of the job to his brother Aaron.  Getting family involved in your business may not always be as ideal as it seems though.  Moses would see that in time.

 

God told him that his enemies were dead, and sent him back to Egypt to deliver Israel from the Pharaoh.

 

And Moses took his wife and his sons, and set them upon an ass, and he returned to the land of Egypt: and Moses took the rod of God in his hand.  And the LORD said unto Moses, When thou goest to return into Egypt, see that thou do all those wonders before Pharaoh, which I have put in thine hand: but I will harden his heart, that he shall not let the people go.  Exodus 4:20-21

 

Moses already knew that Pharaoh would not release them yet.  He was told to follow certain steps and perform miracles before Egypt though.  He had his instructions.  He also had some instructions that he had forgotten.  He had not circumcised his son, and God briefly threatened to slay him over this.  His wife was not too understanding of this:

 

Then Zipporah took a sharp stone, and cut off the foreskin of her son, and cast it at his feet, and said, Surely a bloody husband art thou to me.  So he let him go: then she said, A bloody husband thou art, because of the circumcision.  Exodus 4:25-26

 

Our obligations to the faith are often not understood by those around us.  God makes his will clear though and we must make choices if we want to follow him.  I found that Christians do not always place their feet in the path that the Word of God commands.  I would like to stay on the path myself, but still need help to do that.  We have so much help available if we will ask God for it.  We need help in these times more than ever.

 

I find it hard to pack my belongings to move to find work even in this modern age.  Many families are forced to change school districts and to leave their past lives behind now.  When I go camping I can remember that Moses and his family had to do much more.  They carried water and firewood for every meal.  They had to kill and dress their own meat and grain had to be ground by hand.  Storms tossed their tents, and frightened their livestock.  The winds of change can be challenging. 

 

Those who have gone to foreign missions, or worked to bring the gospel to youth camps know the rewards that can be gained though.  Seeing a life changed by our meager services can wash away the fatigue of the day’s battle.  Moses had a nation to save, and a mighty God to empower him for service.  He found his treasures in heaven.

