Declare HIs Glory

THE SOUND OF MUSIC

Like Moses, David offered a song of praise for his lifetime of relationship and mercy.

And David spake unto the LORD the words of this song in the day that the LORD had delivered him out of the hand of all his enemies, and out of the hand of Saul:  2 Samuel 22:1

When David offers a song it’s an epic.  The Psalms are his collected works, but this is his life testimony.  Notice that he did not list Saul as having been one of his enemies. 

And he said, The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer;  The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence.  I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.  When the waves of death compassed me, the floods of ungodly men made me afraid;  The sorrows of hell compassed me about; the snares of death prevented me;  In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice out of his temple, and my cry did enter into his ears.  2 Samuel 22:2-7

When surrounded by violence and hidden in caves the Lord was his shelter and hope.  This testimony continues in the world of today as missionaries reach out to false religions and cannibals.  Waves of death and floods of ungodly men connect to unfulfilled prophesy in Revelation:

And the serpent cast out of his mouth water as a flood after the woman, that he might cause her to be carried away of the flood. Revelation 12:15

As we call for help, David too called out the name of the Lord for help. 

Then the earth shook and trembled; the foundations of heaven moved and shook, because he was wroth.  There went up a smoke out of his nostrils, and fire out of his mouth devoured: coals were kindled by it.  He bowed the heavens also, and came down; and darkness was under his feet.  And he rode upon a cherub, and did fly: and he was seen upon the wings of the wind.  And he made darkness pavilions round about him, dark waters, and thick clouds of the skies.  Through the brightness before him were coals of fire kindled.  The LORD thundered from heaven, and the most High uttered his voice.  2 Samuel 22:8-14

Being the living God, and not a dead idol, God is unique in answering prayers.  And God answers with action that changes lives and circumstances.  David portrays deliverance as riding on a cherub in the dark clouds of the stormy skies.  A cherub is the cherubim, a creature with four heads and four wings, having power, not a fat flying baby.  This is the unseen warfare of God, thundering down through the nebulous fiery vapors of heaven.

And he sent out arrows, and scattered them; lightning, and discomfited them.  And the channels of the sea appeared, the foundations of the world were discovered, at the rebuking of the LORD, at the blast of the breath of his nostrils.  He sent from above, he took me; he drew me out of many waters;  He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them that hated me: for they were too strong for me.  They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the LORD was my stay.  He brought me forth also into a large place: he delivered me, because he delighted in me.  2 Samuel 22:15-20

David speaks of arrows, the missiles of his warfare.  The imagery compares to modern missiles and tsunami waves, the weapons of man and natural disasters.  He draws David out of many waters.

The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness: according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me.  For I have kept the ways of the LORD, and have not wickedly departed from my God.  For all his judgments were before me: and as for his statutes, I did not depart from them.  I was also upright before him, and have kept myself from mine iniquity.  Therefore the LORD hath recompensed me according to my righteousness; according to my cleanness in his eye sight.  2 Samuel 22:21-25

Ah, David was rewarded according to his righteousness, and even in his failures.  We may occasionally speed, but we still look at the speedometer and correct our trespass.  We keep the way of our God by not deliberately continuing in the sin we have discovered.  We follow his path not by being perfect, but by being teachable.  In his eye sight we are thus clean as we repent and turn to Yeshua for mercy and grace.  We are not saved because we are good, but rather because he is good. 

With the merciful thou wilt shew thyself merciful, and with the upright man thou wilt shew thyself upright.  With the pure thou wilt shew thyself pure; and with the froward thou wilt shew thyself unsavoury. And the afflicted people thou wilt save: but thine eyes are upon the haughty, that thou mayest bring them down.  For thou art my lamp, O LORD: and the LORD will lighten my darkness.  For by thee I have run through a troop: by my God have I leaped over a wall.  2 Samuel 22:26-30

David lived the merciful path, and was slow to seek vengeance.  With God to light his way, David ran through the warriors of strength and sharp blades.  He was able to overcome the obstacles of a real life.  The fear of the Lord has dispersed the fear of man and death.  Fear is defeated in perfect trust.

As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all them that trust in him.  For who is God, save the LORD? and who is a rock, save our God?  God is my strength and power: and he maketh my way perfect.  He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet: and setteth me upon my high places.  He teacheth my hands to war; so that a bow of steel is broken by mine arms.  2 Samuel 22:31-35

Whether your war is with sickness, poverty, or violence we learn to have peace in Christ.  We have the armor of faith as a surrounding of shelter and calm.  We stand confident enough to let the small things pass peaceably.  We can afford to be generous with the bounty and assurance of eternal deliverance.  Without fear we can chose our steps wisely on the slippery slopes of life.

Thou hast also given me the shield of thy salvation: and thy gentleness hath made me great.  Thou hast enlarged my steps under me; so that my feet did not slip.  I have pursued mine enemies, and destroyed them; and turned not again until I had consumed them.  And I have consumed them, and wounded them, that they could not arise: yea, they are fallen under my feet.  For thou hast girded me with strength to battle: them that rose up against me hast thou subdued under me.  2 Samuel 22:36-40

My enemies now are spirits, powers and principalities, not flesh and blood.  By addressing their strongholds, we can also overcome in the natural.  Deprived of the influence of demonic forces, men are less able to overcome the people of God.  If violence and carnal war come to us, we can still have peace.  Rebellion against justice will be overcome.  In Christ we will see our path cleared ahead of us.

Thou hast also given me the necks of mine enemies, that I might destroy them that hate me.  They looked, but there was none to save; even unto the LORD, but he answered them not.  Then did I beat them as small as the dust of the earth, I did stamp them as the mire of the street, and did spread them abroad.  Thou also hast delivered me from the strivings of my people, thou hast kept me to be head of the heathen: a people which I knew not shall serve me.  2 Samuel 22:41-44

Evil men facing death remember prayer in their desperation.  If they have not remembered God during their oppression of helpless people, he repays the merciless in their own way. 

I have trodden the winepress alone; and of the people there was none with me: for I will tread them in mine anger, and trample them in my fury; and their blood shall be sprinkled upon my garments, and I will stain all my raiment.  For the day of vengeance is in mine heart, and the year of my redeemed is come.  Isaiah 63:3-4

Paul taught the Romans to embrace this confidence too: 

Recompense to no man evil for evil. Provide things honest in the sight of all men.  If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.  Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.  Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head.  Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.  Romans 12:17-21

David gave Israel object lessons in mercy and grace.  God gave them demonstrations of his faithful judgment.  Those enemies who would not accept the patience of David discovered the coals of the wrath of God in their destiny.  David found favor with man and God.

Strangers shall submit themselves unto me: as soon as they hear, they shall be obedient unto me.  Strangers shall fade away, and they shall be afraid out of their close places.  The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and exalted be the God of the rock of my salvation.  It is God that avengeth me, and that bringeth down the people under me.  And that bringeth me forth from mine enemies: thou also hast lifted me up on high above them that rose up against me: thou hast delivered me from the violent man.  Therefore I will give thanks unto thee, O LORD, among the heathen, and I will sing praises unto thy name.  He is the tower of salvation for his king: and sheweth mercy to his anointed, unto David, and to his seed for evermore.  2 Samuel 22:45-51

David has been honored by kings; his house was built by a neighboring king.  His enemies fell before the vengeance that he allowed God to perform for him.  He was carried over every battle, just for reporting for duty.  He is wise enough to honor the true source of his success.  This is the masterpiece of the Psalm writer.

