IMG_5405

ANGUISH

Job is in pain. Can he endure without cursing God for his condition? He does regret being alive to endure this great trial. I see many seniors enduring affliction, and marvel at their enduring hope as they march closer to their day with God. What do they see that gives them such confidence to approach the veil? They who know their God have his assurance.

After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day. And Job spake, and said, Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived. Let that day be darkness; let not God regard it from above, neither let the light shine upon it. Let darkness and the shadow of death stain it; let a cloud dwell upon it; let the blackness of the day terrify it. Job 3:1-5

If Job could disturb the time line like they do in “Star Trek” he would mess his world up big time! He would frighten his own birthday off with the terror of darkness.

As for that night, let darkness seize upon it; let it not be joined unto the days of the year, let it not come into the number of the months. Lo, let that night be solitary, let no joyful voice come therein. Let them curse it that curse the day, who are ready to raise up their mourning. Let the stars of the twilight thereof be dark; let it look for light, but have none; neither let it see the dawning of the day: Because it shut not up the doors of my mother’s womb, nor hid sorrow from mine eyes. Job 3:6-10

Now he would disjoint the calendar and darken the planets that light the early evening sky. He wants vengeance on the mechanisms of the universe for any part they played in his birth.

Why died I not from the womb? why did I not give up the ghost when I came out of the belly? Why did the knees prevent me? or why the breasts that I should suck? For now should I have lain still and been quiet, I should have slept: then had I been at rest, With kings and counselors of the earth, which build desolate places for themselves; Or with princes that had gold, who filled their houses with silver: Job 3:11-15

To be stillborn Job may have been laid to rest among the dead kings of the past. Powerful men who wasted their lives in the futility of building material wealth would have been release from torment.

Or as an hidden untimely birth I had not been; as infants which never saw light. There the wicked cease from troubling; and there the weary be at rest. There the prisoners rest together; they hear not the voice of the oppressor. The small and great are there; and the servant is free from his master. Wherefore is light given to him that is in misery, and life unto the bitter in soul; Job 3:16-20

Pain and frustration can provoke a great speech of despair. Job continues to consider the benefits of existing in the silence of the deceased. Why is there awareness for those who are alive in agony?

Which long for death, but it cometh not; and dig for it more than for hid treasures; Which rejoice exceedingly, and are glad, when they can find the grave? Why is light given to a man whose way is hid, and whom God hath hedged in? For my sighing cometh before I eat, and my roarings are poured out like the waters. For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me. I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; yet trouble came. Job 3:21-26

The afflicted may rejoice in death but God does not grant this to everyone. I have been hospitalized with symptoms the doctors did not understand. I could not pray effectively for my own relief. Job has not lived without prayer, nor has he allowed sin into his life. The pain coming to him now disturbed his prayer and communion with God as he is surrounded by the manifestation of his worst fears. Job needs a friend.

