IMG_0188

13-04-06 0188

RESISTANCE IS FUTILE

Job can’t find grounds to justify himself.  His friends have assessed him unfairly, but Job doesn’t have much more esteem of himself when compared to God.

Then Job answered and said, I know it is so of a truth: but how should man be just with God?  If he will contend with him, he cannot answer him one of a thousand.  He is wise in heart, and mighty in strength: who hath hardened himself against him, and hath prospered?  Which removeth the mountains, and they know not: which overturneth them in his anger.  Which shaketh the earth out of her place, and the pillars thereof tremble.  Which commandeth the sun, and it riseth not; and sealeth up the stars.  Which alone spreadeth out the heavens, and treadeth upon the waves of the sea.  Which maketh Arcturus, Orion, and Pleiades, and the chambers of the south.  Which doeth great things past finding out; yea, and wonders without number. Job 9:1-10

So Job wonders how a man can justify himself to God.  Aren’t we kind of puny in comparison to the creator?  We are just beginning to discover the vastness of the heavens he created now.

Lo, he goeth by me, and I see him not: he passeth on also, but I perceive him not.  Behold, he taketh away, who can hinder him? who will say unto him, What doest thou?  If God will not withdraw his anger, the proud helpers do stoop under him.  How much less shall I answer him, and choose out my words to reason with him? Whom, though I were righteous, yet would I not answer, but I would make supplication to my judge. Job 9:11-15

Man can’t see God passing by or slow him down physically or by challenging him.  His anger humiliates the strong, let alone an unrighteous man.  Job would not challenge, but rather petition God for mercy.

If I had called, and he had answered me; yet would I not believe that he had hearkened unto my voice.  For he breaketh me with a tempest, and multiplieth my wounds without cause.  He will not suffer me to take my breath, but filleth me with bitterness.  If I speak of strength, lo, he is strong: and if of judgment, who shall set me a time to plead?  If I justify myself, mine own mouth shall condemn me: if I say, I am perfect, it shall also prove me perverse.  Though I were perfect, yet would I not know my soul: I would despise my life.  Job 9:16-21

Job thinks God has not heard nor responded to his prayers.  To our sense of time he is enduring a long trial, dragging on for all these chapters.  Our righteousness pales and fails beside his.

This is one thing, therefore I said it, He destroyeth the perfect and the wicked.  If the scourge slay suddenly, he will laugh at the trial of the innocent.  The earth is given into the hand of the wicked: he covereth the faces of the judges thereof; if not, where, and who is he?  Now my days are swifter than a post: they flee away, they see no good.  They are passed away as the swift ships: as the eagle that hasteth to the prey.  Job 9:22-26

Now Job knows that bad news comes to everyone, good or bad.  Is it fair to say that God is the slayer though?  To the Old Testament saints it may have seemed unclear until Yeshua came to offer grace after their death.  Everyone seems to be collecting an unfair reward before their life is weighed by a perfect judge.  Then accounts will be balanced out properly.

If I say, I will forget my complaint, I will leave off my heaviness, and comfort myself:  I am afraid of all my sorrows, I know that thou wilt not hold me innocent.  If I be wicked, why then labour I in vain?  If I wash myself with snow water, and make my hands never so clean;  Yet shalt thou plunge me in the ditch, and mine own clothes shall abhor me.  For he is not a man, as I am, that I should answer him, and we should come together in judgment.  Neither is there any daysman betwixt us, that might lay his hand upon us both.  Let him take his rod away from me, and let not his fear terrify me:  Then would I speak, and not fear him; but it is not so with me. Job 9:27-35

Job cannot just go into denial and pretend to be at peace.  He knows that he is guilty by the perfect standard of the Law.  Why indeed should he labor to do works of the flesh that are futility?  God is a holy God and there is no mediator.  Job has no intercessor until Yeshua will come on the scene.  If he could have relief from his pain perhaps then he could speak to God without fear.  But this is not Job’s lot at this time.  He will get to understand in God’s time though.

