DAVID+GOL

EMPOWERED TO ROCK THE WORLD

Now David will face the greatest physical threat that his enemies can send against Israel.  There are no conspiracies here, only the naked aggression of one who challenges the God of Israel.  This was not news to Israel, and it is still going on today.  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006WIZRIE/ref=dv_dp_ep2 

By now David has his heart and mind filled with the testimony of the Lord, and has no hesitation.  The Psalm will relate the mindset of trust that lets David face a challenge knowing that the battle is the Lord’s.  He stands ready.

I will love thee, O LORD, my strength.  The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.  I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.  The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.  The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me.  Psalm 18:1-5

David has been living his life with his mind anchored and focused on the reality of trusting God.  This is no fantasy or illusion to him.  He loves his father in heaven and knows where to turn when challenged.  Did he sing Psalms like this to calm King Saul?  These Psalms are still the source of peace even in parts of our world surrounded by darkness.  This was the mindset of David when he heard about Goliath.  He had some concern about the affairs of men, and may have heard rumors of the approaching Philistine army.  He had time to consider the threats and to look up for his help.

In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.  Then the earth shook and trembled; the foundations also of the hills moved and were shaken, because he was wroth.  There went up a smoke out of his nostrils, and fire out of his mouth devoured: coals were kindled by it.  He bowed the heavens also, and came down: and darkness was under his feet.  And he rode upon a cherub, and did fly: yea, he did fly upon the wings of the wind.  Psalm 18:6-10

This is how David saw the reality of life.  He was not one who would be disturbed by news of Mexican cartel violence or plotting in high places.  He was prepared to face each new enemy with the same protector who had given him victory over man and beast.  This picture of David above captures the time of his declaration of confidence in God.  This is what David had to say to Goliath:

Then said David to the Philistine, Thou comest to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield: but I come to thee in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom thou hast defied.  This day will the LORD deliver thee into mine hand; and I will smite thee, and take thine head from thee; and I will give the carcasses of the host of the Philistines this day unto the fowls of the air, and to the wild beasts of the earth; that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel.  And all this assembly shall know that the LORD saveth not with sword and spear: for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give you into our hands.  1 Samuel 17: 45-47

We know what happened next, and this Psalm may reflect this or any of David’s many victories.  As long a David was living right with God, God was giving life to David.  To David this describes what reality really is.  I doubt that David gave credit to his sling or rocks in the victory he received from God.  I think he could see the power of God through the eyes of faith.  This is the battle he witnessed through the eyes of faith:

He made darkness his secret place; his pavilion round about him were dark waters and thick clouds of the skies.  At the brightness that was before him his thick clouds passed, hail stones and coals of fire.  The LORD also thundered in the heavens, and the Highest gave his voice; hail stones and coals of fire.  Yea, he sent out his arrows, and scattered them; and he shot out lightnings, and discomfited them.  Then the channels of waters were seen, and the foundations of the world were discovered at thy rebuke, O LORD, at the blast of the breath of thy nostrils.  Psalm 18:11-15

David sees the fire of battle belonging to the artillery of God.  He knew that his five smooth stones were not the source of his victory.  He saw Goliath, Saul, and later Absalom already defeated before they even found the field of battle.

He sent from above, he took me, he drew me out of many waters.  He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them which hated me: for they were too strong for me.  They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the LORD was my stay.  He brought me forth also into a large place; he delivered me, because he delighted in me.  The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me.  Psalm 18:16-20

He delivered me David says of his victory over those who were stronger than himself.  David is not deluded into trusting the strength of his own arms.  Some today forget this deliverance and credit America’s “arsenal of democracy” as our deliverance in our world wars.  But can we see victory in our future as a reward for the righteousness of our modern nation?  Our true compensation may be unfolding soon.

For I have kept the ways of the LORD, and have not wickedly departed from my God.  For all his judgments were before me, and I did not put away his statutes from me.  I was also upright before him, and I kept myself from mine iniquity.  Therefore hath the LORD recompensed me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in his eyesight.  With the merciful thou wilt shew thyself merciful; with an upright man thou wilt shew thyself upright;  Psalm 18:21-25

Did David sing a Psalm like this for Saul?  Did Saul have an opportunity to examine his ways and motives before God?  Today our nation is formed around secret societies like the Masonic order more than around the open truth of the Gospel.  Our leaders have had far more warning than Saul had, and still don’t consider God to be a factor in our destiny.  What can they expect to get from the living God if they are sworn to secret rites of demonic origin?

With the pure thou wilt shew thyself pure; and with the froward thou wilt shew thyself froward.  For thou wilt save the afflicted people; but wilt bring down high looks.  For thou wilt light my candle: the LORD my God will enlighten my darkness.  For by thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall.  As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.  Psalm 18:26-30

David knew that corruption would be brought down.  He could see the victory of righteousness in a confident vision of faith.  Do any of our political parties stand free of corruption to see the same victory today?

For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God?  It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.  He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet, and setteth me upon my high places.  He teacheth my hands to war, so that a bow of steel is broken by mine arms.  Thou hast also given me the shield of thy salvation: and thy right hand hath holden me up, and thy gentleness hath made me great.  Psalm 18:31-35

David could run like the blitzkrieg or stand like a bunker in God.  He could see the enemy move from high places and then destroy the giants of war.  While God is a sword and a shield to him, it is God’s gentleness that empowers him.

Thou hast enlarged my steps under me, that my feet did not slip.  I have pursued mine enemies, and overtaken them: neither did I turn again till they were consumed.  I have wounded them that they were not able to rise: they are fallen under my feet.  For thou hast girded me with strength unto the battle: thou hast subdued under me those that rose up against me.  Thou hast also given me the necks of mine enemies; that I might destroy them that hate me.  Psalm 18:36-40

The great King Saul did not deliver Israel, and no president empowered by worldly power has ever made victory possible.  The humble righteous prayers of the faithful, the soldiers, grandmothers, and weak warriors of faith have carried the day.  No glory seeking general can find the power that David has had over his vanquished enemies.  Real heroes know their weakness and seek the rock of refuge for help.

They cried, but there was none to save them: even unto the LORD, but he answered them not.  Then did I beat them small as the dust before the wind: I did cast them out as the dirt in the streets.   Thou hast delivered me from the strivings of the people; and thou hast made me the head of the heathen: a people whom I have not known shall serve me.  As soon as they hear of me, they shall obey me: the strangers shall submit themselves unto me.  The strangers shall fade away, and be afraid out of their close places.  Psalm 18:40-45

The enemies of God will cry out and they will not find God’s mercy then.  As David is able to blow through his enemies, Israel will be given respect by all nations in the day of the Lord.  There is another battle coming before the great millennium period.  The Israel that sees their messiah will recognize him as the God they pierced, who returns with mercy as Joseph did for his brethren before.

The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.  It is God that avengeth me, and subdueth the people under me.  He delivereth me from mine enemies: yea, thou liftest me up above those that rise up against me: thou hast delivered me from the violent man.  Therefore will I give thanks unto thee, O LORD, among the heathen, and sing praises unto thy name.  Great deliverance giveth he to his king; and sheweth mercy to his anointed, to David, and to his seed for evermore.  Psalm 46-50

David can see God as the sure deliverance of Israel, and he praises God for his victory.  Yeshua of Nazareth is the seed of David and the source of mercy for Israel and those of the nations who receive him.  He is the righteous King who will carry our battles and take us to the Kingdom of God.

