david3

REAL ENEMIES?  A REAL FRIEND

There is nothing new in the world of human relations.  It has all been done before, and part of that world has to hate and hurt.  David had a lifetime to find his refuge.  He found his help and shared it with centuries of readers of the Psalms.

Be merciful unto me, O God: for man would swallow me up; he fighting daily oppresseth me.  Mine enemies would daily swallow me up: for they be many that fight against me, O thou most High.  What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.  In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.  Every day they wrest my words: all their thoughts are against me for evil.  Psalm 56:1-5

Alone.  David was occasionally alone against numerous enemies.  When there is no other fellowship, there is still one who is closer than a brother.  Critics and enemies are no match for the God that David calls on here.  David admits knowing fear, but lays that to rest in his trust for God.  Although enemies twist his words against him David is at peace.

They gather themselves together, they hide themselves, they mark my steps, when they wait for my soul.  Shall they escape by iniquity? in thine anger cast down the people, O God.  Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?  When I cry unto thee, then shall mine enemies turn back: this I know; for God is for me.  In God will I praise his word: in the LORD will I praise his word.  Psalm 56:6-10

If the enemies of David have planned an ambush, David has the righteous counter attack.  He trusts God to be the judge of his opposition.  David has total confidence that God is for him.  He knows that deliverance is from the Lord, and from his word.  David has been getting revelation about the messiah, and he may be making a reference to the word in the way John sees Yeshua.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  The same was in the beginning with God.  All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.  In him was life; and the life was the light of men.  And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not. John 1:1-5

John made the connection between God, scripture, and Emanuel, God with us.  David was already sharing his understanding of that promised salvation.  He knows that
God has delivered a promise for his hope.

In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid what man can do unto me.  Thy vows are upon me, O God: I will render praises unto thee.  For thou hast delivered my soul from death: wilt not thou deliver my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of the living?  Psalm 56:11-13

David will praise God by faith, not after deliverance but before, in faith believing for the future hope.  He asks to be safe from slipping back into sin and death.

Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.  I will cry unto God most high; unto God that performeth all things for me.  He shall send from heaven, and save me from the reproach of him that would swallow me up. Selah. God shall send forth his mercy and his truth.  My soul is among lions: and I lie even among them that are set on fire, even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword.  Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens; let thy glory be above all the earth.  Psalm 57:1-5

Be merciful, and indeed God’s name could be mercy as his deeds testify.  David Knows that he will ask for help and God will send help.  Angry enemies and cruel words will not undermine his faith.  God will be glorified by his kindness and by his people.

They have prepared a net for my steps; my soul is bowed down: they have digged a pit before me, into the midst whereof they are fallen themselves. Selah.  My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.  Awake up, my glory; awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.  I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: I will sing unto thee among the nations.  For thy mercy is great unto the heavens, and thy truth unto the clouds.  Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: let thy glory be above all the earth.  Psalm 57:6-11

Evil men will seek your weakness and try to find ways to trap you, but they will fall into their own traps.  David promises to praise God in the morning; to the people and in song.  He will not miss promoting the knowledge of the Lord to people in need.

Do ye indeed speak righteousness, O congregation? do ye judge uprightly, O ye sons of men?  Yea, in heart ye work wickedness; ye weigh the violence of your hands in the earth.  The wicked are estranged from the womb: they go astray as soon as they be born, speaking lies.  Their poison is like the poison of a serpent: they are like the deaf adder that stoppeth her ear;  Which will not hearken to the voice of charmers, charming never so wisely.  Psalm 58:1-5

Oh David will challenge his own house of faith if they are living a lie.  Some who are near us are serving the darkness, enticing the unwary with deceptions.  They are like a venomous snake in their ways.  David has a prayer for them.

Break their teeth, O God, in their mouth: break out the great teeth of the young lions, O LORD.  Let them melt away as waters which run continually: when he bendeth his bow to shoot his arrows, let them be as cut in pieces.  As a snail which melteth, let every one of them pass away: like the untimely birth of a woman, that they may not see the sun.  Before your pots can feel the thorns, he shall take them away as with a whirlwind, both living, and in his wrath.  The righteous shall rejoice when he seeth the vengeance: he shall wash his feet in the blood of the wicked.  So that a man shall say, Verily there is a reward for the righteous: verily he is a God that judgeth in the earth.  Psalm 58:6-11

The serpent and the young lion live by their teeth, but David has asked God to break their teeth.  David had a relationship with God and his prayers had authority.  These enemies would feel the effect and the righteous would witness the death of evil.  Do We have the faith to find such forgiveness today that would give us favor over evil?

Deliver me from mine enemies, O my God: defend me from them that rise up against me.  Deliver me from the workers of iniquity, and save me from bloody men.  For, lo, they lie in wait for my soul: the mighty are gathered against me; not for my transgression, nor for my sin, O LORD.  They run and prepare themselves without my fault: awake to help me, and behold.  Thou therefore, O LORD God of hosts, the God of Israel, awake to visit all the heathen: be not merciful to any wicked transgressors. Selah. Psalm 59: 1-5

I have heard people accuse me of things that I did not do.  I know where I am each day and what I am doing.  The Lord and I work on the sins that I am guilty of but I have no problem with things that I am not guilty of.  When someone is bold enough to speak against you without truth you have your own peace in knowing your innocence.  You have also been given the gift of discovering the true thoughts of your enemies.  You can walk with God and call him to oppose the unrighteous.  You have authority in prayer and should expect God’s help.

They return at evening: they make a noise like a dog, and go round about the city.  Behold, they belch out with their mouth: swords are in their lips: for who, say they, doth hear?  But thou, O LORD, shalt laugh at them; thou shalt have all the heathen in derision.  Because of his strength will I wait upon thee: for God is my defence.  The God of my mercy shall prevent me: God shall let me see my desire upon mine enemies. Selah. Psalm 59: 6-10

I have received anonymous letters and been rejected from membership in groups.  The guilty have always been revealed, even by a premonition at one time.  I was warned that friends would reject me and within twenty minutes I saw the proof that these were not my truest friends.  My true friend was closer than a brother, and knew their deeds before they acted them out.  I discovered my enemies and I also discovered my friend the creator.  Who can be against us?

Slay them not, lest my people forget: scatter them by thy power; and bring them down, O Lord our shield.  For the sin of their mouth and the words of their lips let them even be taken in their pride: and for cursing and lying which they speak.  Consume them in wrath, consume them, that they may not be: and let them know that God ruleth in Jacob unto the ends of the earth. Selah.  And at evening let them return; and let them make a noise like a dog, and go round about the city.  Let them wander up and down for meat, and grudge if they be not satisfied. Psalm 59:11-15

David was not asking God to do violence to his enemies.  It was better for enemies to be revealed and scattered from power by their own words.  They could return to the community when they repented, but they would not prosper where people now knew their true nature.

But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.  Unto thee, O my strength, will I sing: for God is my defence, and the God of my mercy. Psalm 59: 16-17

By this time David had lived with God through many trials and dangers.  He had a long experience with faithful helps from God.  He can face the troubles and the trouble makers with a song in his heart.  These Psalms are the songs of David’s joy in the Lord.

