IMG_2347

OPERATORS INSTRUCTIONS

Psalms have been demonstrations of the power of worship.  They often show us a situation full of danger and discomfort initially.  As the Psalmist moves pat fear and into faith by praising God, we have witnessed answers coming from heaven as God speaks through the song writer.  Worship lifts us from the world and opens a way to communication with God.  This psalm is a song of instruction.  It does again demonstrate how to overcome the storms through worship that celebrates and glorifies God.

I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations.   For I have said, Mercy shall be built up for ever: thy faithfulness shalt thou establish in the very heavens.  I have made a covenant with my chosen, I have sworn unto David my servant,  Thy seed will I establish for ever, and build up thy throne to all generations. Selah.  And the heavens shall praise thy wonders, O LORD: thy faithfulness also in the congregation of the saints.  Psalm 89:1-5

A maschil is a song of instruction and wisdom, so praising God is the first step in that direction.  As so many psalms have led us to praise God we are again encouraged to tell all generations about his faithfulness.  If you want wisdom, receive it and share it.  Again the Lord injects his own conversation into the worship as he acknowledges David as his servant.  The excitement of this relationship rises to another prophesy of the descendant of David who will possess the eternal throne.  The singer declares that God’s faithfulness will be known in heaven and in the gathering of believers.

For who in the heaven can be compared unto the LORD? who among the sons of the mighty can be likened unto the LORD?  God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be had in reverence of all them that are about him.  O LORD God of hosts, who is a strong LORD like unto thee? or to thy faithfulness round about thee?  Thou rulest the raging of the sea: when the waves thereof arise, thou stillest them.  Thou hast broken Rahab in pieces, as one that is slain; thou hast scattered thine enemies with thy strong arm.  Psalm 89:6-10

To lift the Lord to the world we should know that he is also the highest in the spiritual realm.  Wherever truly spiritual people assemble God is feared.  He controls the physical worlds he created, and he controls the destinies of men and nations.

The heavens are thine, the earth also is thine: as for the world and the fulness thereof, thou hast founded them.  The north and the south thou hast created them: Tabor and Hermon shall rejoice in thy name.  Thou hast a mighty arm: strong is thy hand, and high is thy right hand.  Justice and judgment are the habitation of thy throne: mercy and truth shall go before thy face.  Blessed is the people that know the joyful sound: they shall walk, O LORD, in the light of thy countenance. Psalm 89:11-15

Ownership of the worlds that God created is clearly his.  The nations acknowledge his sovereignty.  Justice is his domain and the people who know the joy of the psalm of worship know the spiritual light.  The singer has been giving glory to God, and he will be joined in the song by the Lord himself speaking prophetically through him.

In thy name shall they rejoice all the day: and in thy righteousness shall they be exalted.  For thou art the glory of their strength: and in thy favour our horn shall be exalted.  For the LORD is our defence; and the Holy One of Israel is our king.  Then thou spakest in vision to thy holy one, and saidst, I have laid help upon one that is mighty; I have exalted one chosen out of the people.  I have found David my servant; with my holy oil have I anointed him: Psalm 89:16-20

Those who know the joy of the Lord rejoice because they are increased by God’s own righteousness.  Joy breeds confidence, and there is no greater confidence than the Lord.  The joy of celebration song about the Lord induces fellowship with him.  Lord, you spoke to your servant in a vision, revealing a chosen one.  The singer relates the words of God as the worship moves on into prophesy.  This is how the Holy Spirit makes personal communication with us in sermons and worship.  This is how the psalm is a teaching tool, showing us a path to direct communion with God.  The Lord continues to reveal his chosen one.

With whom my hand shall be established: mine arm also shall strengthen him.  The enemy shall not exact upon him; nor the son of wickedness afflict him.   And I will beat down his foes before his face, and plague them that hate him.  But my faithfulness and my mercy shall be with him: and in my name shall his horn be exalted.  I will set his hand also in the sea, and his right hand in the rivers. Psalm 89:21-25

This chosen one will be strengthened by me, the Lord says.  When a prophetic word is emerging from a song or a sermon we witness the greatest demonstration of the Holy Spirit.  This is the manifestation in the Old Testament, and it continues to this day.  In this psalm the Lord continues his message, promising to exalt his son.

He shall cry unto me, Thou art my father, my God, and the rock of my salvation.  Also I will make him my firstborn, higher than the kings of the earth.  My mercy will I keep for him for evermore, and my covenant shall stand fast with him.  His seed also will I make to endure for ever, and his throne as the days of heaven.  Psalm 89:26-29

David is pleasing to God but his descendant is the focus of this message now.  This is the seed of David, but he is more than David.  The seed of David will be made eternal, a king of kings forever.  In the joy of this psalm is the communion of revelation from God.

If his children forsake my law, and walk not in my judgments;  If they break my statutes, and keep not my commandments;  Then will I visit their transgression with the rod, and their iniquity with stripes.  Nevertheless my lovingkindness will I not utterly take from him, nor suffer my faithfulness to fail.  My covenant will I not break, nor alter the thing that is gone out of my lips.  Once have I sworn by my holiness that I will not lie unto David. Psalm 89:30-35

God promises to discipline the children of David and of Israel, but he will not turn against them.  He has made a covenant with David and with Israel, and he will bring them salvation as he promises.

His seed shall endure for ever, and his throne as the sun before me.  It shall be established for ever as the moon, and as a faithful witness in heaven. Selah. But thou hast cast off and abhorred, thou hast been wroth with thine anointed.   Thou hast made void the covenant of thy servant: thou hast profaned his crown by casting it to the ground.  Thou hast broken down all his hedges; thou hast brought his strong holds to ruin.  Psalm 89: 36-40

The seed of David is Messiah, and he will be eternal, and faithful to God and man.  But the world has witnessed his life and hated him.  His own people of Israel, and all nations  have despised his royal claim and denied him.  He was accused and mounted on a tree as a public disgrace.

All that pass by the way spoil him: he is a reproach to his neighbours.  Thou hast set up the right hand of his adversaries; thou hast made all his enemies to rejoice.  Thou hast also turned the edge of his sword, and hast not made him to stand in the battle.  Thou hast made his glory to cease, and cast his throne down to the ground.  The days of his youth hast thou shortened: thou hast covered him with shame. Selah.  Psalm 89: 41-45

Because he was hanged on a tree he was falsely branded as a sinner and a reproach to all.  He was not here to rebel against the world, and never offered to raise a sword in battle.  Mankind revealed human nature by ending his young life shamefully.  The Lord has spoken to all of us in this psalm.  The singer feels the loss of God’s presence in the conclusion of this worship.

How long, LORD? wilt thou hide thyself for ever? shall thy wrath burn like fire?  Remember how short my time is: wherefore hast thou made all men in vain?  What man is he that liveth, and shall not see death? shall he deliver his soul from the hand of the grave? Selah.  Lord, where are thy former lovingkindnesses, which thou swarest unto David in thy truth?  Remember, Lord, the reproach of thy servants; how I do bear in my bosom the reproach of all the mighty people;  Wherewith thine enemies have reproached, O LORD; wherewith they have reproached the footsteps of thine anointed.  Blessed be the LORD for evermore. Amen, and Amen.  Psalm 89: 46-52

How Long will you hide, Lord?  Will the world be left with only the fruit of sin; crime, plagues, and war?  Is man made only to die without hope?  Where is the hope you promised to David now?  Israel and the children of David are hated by the world today, and our enemies have accused the brethren.  When they demean us, they also insult your anointed messiah.  May God be blessed as we learn how your promise will be delivered.

Friends of faith, trust God to deliver Israel, and prepare to welcome the sons of Abraham to the Kingdom of God.  YOU are the ambassadors to share the joy of this lesson with the world.  You too may enter the joy of worship and discover revelation from God in this rapture of joy.  When you encourage others to trust Yeshua your personal experience and the word of God can become anointed in your faith.  Your encouragement of others can become instruction coming directly from God as the Holy Spirit enables you.  Answer the call to worship expecting to be inspired and used to build the kingdom of faith.

