WHO SCATTERS OUR ENEMIES

 

PSALM 116

 

I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.  Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.  The sorrows of death compassed me, and the pains of hell gat hold upon me: I found trouble and sorrow.  Then called I upon the name of the LORD; O LORD, I beseech thee, deliver my soul.  Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; yea, our God is merciful.  Psalm 116:1-5

 

I love the Lord because he heard me.  How does the psalmist know this?  He knows because he got results in some form that convinced him that God stepped in.  God answers, intervenes, helps, and saves us.  Because he listens I will always call on him.  Serious problems and mortal danger and fear of hell, the wrath of God fell on me.  The fear of God and sorrow motivated a cry to God for help.  The Lord does give us grace.  Last night I dreamed that my house was falling into the basement, where giant serpents waited to devour us.  I ran around telling the kids to get out in time.  Can we warn our children as the psalmist is doing here?

 

The LORD preserveth the simple: I was brought low, and he helped me.  Return unto thy rest, O my soul; for the LORD hath dealt bountifully with thee.  For thou hast delivered my soul from death, mine eyes from tears, and my feet from falling.  I will walk before the LORD in the land of the living.  I believed, therefore have I spoken: I was greatly afflicted:  I said in my haste, All men are liars.  Psalm 116:6-11

 

God saves the simple and foolish people like myself.  God did answer with help, so breathe easy my worried soul!  You Lord have delivered me from real fears and death when my feet were slipping.  I have the privilege to walk with God here in the land of the living.  I spoke what I believed when I was threatened, and my hasty response was to call all men liars.

 

What shall I render unto the LORD for all his benefits toward me?  I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the LORD.  I will pay my vows unto the LORD now in the presence of all his people.  Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints. Psalm 116:12-15

 

How can I repay God for all he has done?  I can accept the sweet taste of salvation and call on God for my help.  I will behave righteously towards God in full view of his people.  If I do die, God sees our death as being precious.  If he is there for me, how can I complain about passing through the veil into his realm?  Come with us!

 

 

O LORD, truly I am thy servant; I am thy servant, and the son of thine handmaid: thou hast loosed my bonds.  I will offer to thee the sacrifice of thanksgiving, and will call upon the name of the LORD.  I will pay my vows unto the LORD now in the presence of all his people,  In the courts of the LORD’S house, in the midst of thee, O Jerusalem. Praise ye the LORD. Psalm 116:16-19

 

I am the servant of you alone Lord, as a son of a faithful mother and a servant released from slavery.  I am willing to make the effort to give you thanks and to turn to you for my help.  In the view of everyone in Jerusalem I will honor my promises to honor you and praise the Lord.

 

PSALM 117

 

O praise the LORD, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people.  For his merciful kindness is great toward us: and the truth of the LORD endureth for ever. Praise ye the LORD. Psalm 117:1-2

 

Every person of every nation should be praising God.  Considering the evil in the world God has proven his mercy and kindness to all of us.  Praise the Lord.  What part of telling the world that God is good can we fail to understand?  In two lines we have his word; his commandment.

 

Psalm 118

 

O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever.  Let Israel now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.  Let the house of Aaron now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.  Let them now that fear the LORD say, that his mercy endureth for ever.  I called upon the LORD in distress: the LORD answered me, and set me in a large place.  Psalm 118:1-5

 

Give thanks to God just because he is good to us, and he forgives us endlessly.  All of Israel should say that mercy is eternal.  We are of Israel as believers and we know that we test God’s patience and he proves his mercy regularly.  Let the House of Aaron, the priests and shepherds, that God is merciful.  If you fear God say that his mercy is forever.  When we say this it becomes part of our life that the world witnesses.  I called on God when I was in despair and he made me prosper again.

 

The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?  The LORD taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.  It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.  It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in princes.  All nations compassed me about: but in the name of the LORD will I destroy them.  Psalm 118:6-10

 

The Lord is with me, this is a fact that he can reveal to you in crisis.  Then you know for sure that man can do nothing to harm you.  We will witness our victory over our enemies.  God is more trustworthy than men or princes.  Even if surrounded by enemy nations then in the name of the Lord Yeshua we will have victory.

 

They compassed me about; yea, they compassed me about: but in the name of the LORD I will destroy them.  They compassed me about like bees; they are quenched as the fire of thorns: for in the name of the LORD I will destroy them.  Thou hast thrust sore at me that I might fall: but the LORD helped me.  The LORD is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.  The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the LORD doeth valiantly.  Psalm 118:11-15

 

Although the enemy nations surround me I know that I will destroy them by the power of the name of the Lord.  They surrounded me like a swarm of bees.  That happened to me in Arizona so the dog and I broke records running to safety.  Those bees stayed with us for a great distance too!  But we see the sting of our enemies neutralized when we call on the name of the Lord.  I too have received the thrust of enemies who seek to harm or discourage me and today we still receive the Lord’s help.  A song is part of our strength, and the church should echo with his praises as he delivers victory to us.

 

The right hand of the LORD is exalted: the right hand of the LORD doeth valiantly.  I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the LORD.  The LORD hath chastened me sore: but he hath not given me over unto death.  Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, and I will praise the LORD:  This gate of the LORD, into which the righteous shall enter.  Psalm 118:16-20

 

Thr right hand of the Lord is exalted.  In the New Testament Jesus is destined to stand at the right hand of God.  He is God’s right hand man; he is the arm and the hand of the Lord.  God has given me trials and punishment, but he spares me from death.  There is a gate; a barrier against injustice that we are allowed to pass through with God’s permission.

 

I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and art become my salvation.  The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.  This is the LORD’S doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.  This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.  Save now, I beseech thee, O LORD: O LORD, I beseech thee, send now prosperity.  Psalm 118:21-25

 

I will praise you for hearing and saving me.  Now the psalmist (David?) is in the spirit of God again and about to speak for him.  The stone the builders turned down has become the cornerstone of the whole church now.  This line is recalled before the Priests of Israel by Peter in the New Testament:

 

Be it known unto you all, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom ye crucified, whom God raised from the dead, even by him doth this man stand here before you whole.  This is the stone which was set at nought of you builders, which is become the head of the corner. Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.  Acts 4:10-11

 

So the singer has spoken a prophesy that would be witnessed by the high priest of Israel many generations later.  This is indeed marvelous in our eyes, and Peter remembered to praise the Lord by naming his name as our only salvation!  So the psalms teach rules of spiritual warfare that worked in Peter’s day, and still work for us today.  This is the day the Lord has made, and men still sing of it today.  Send me salvation too Lord!

 

 

Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the LORD: we have blessed you out of the house of the LORD.  God is the LORD, which hath shewed us light: bind the sacrifice with cords, even unto the horns of the altar.  Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.  O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.  Psalm 118:26-29

 

And who can come in the name of the Lord more than he who bears the name of the Lord?  Yeshua of Nazareth who is known as the Word was with god and was God in the beginning, before Abraham was I Am.  He who is the word spoke this line again in his time:

 

For I say unto you, Ye shall not see me henceforth, till ye shall say, Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord.  Matthew 23: 39

 

You are my God and I will exalt you by telling the world who you are.  All of us should thank God for being merciful to all of us who do not deserve you.

