IMG_9381

UPLIFTING

I was blessed to get help from my Father, and to have skills that let me win three patents for new aircraft designs.  I had funds to get started and time to find markets.  Six years later I am again looking at poverty in spite of many hours of hard work.  Sure, Social Security pads my landing, and I do have a home paid for.  But I still need to see a business grow or go find a job.  Every election promises jobs and good times, but where are they?

Proverbs 13:17-25

17 A wicked messenger falleth into mischief: but a faithful ambassador is health.

An evil person can bring any number of bad messages.  A false accusation is common, as are slander and gossip.  These can also be tools in an election, but they backfire when caught.  An ambassador is one who has the sense to be polite and truthful.  These are less common in politics and are especially appreciated when they do appear.

18 Poverty and shame shall be to him that refuseth instruction: but he that regardeth reproof shall be honoured.

If you drop out of school, what do you expect?  Against good counsel I got only part of a college education.  I had advantages, and now I have only a skill that no one is buying.  I may overcome this in time, but those with the credentials get more done at an earlier time in their life.  Your senior years should bring you honor for getting things done that the world needs.  Don’t settle for Social Security and a senior home.

19 The desire accomplished is sweet to the soul: but it is abomination to fools to depart from evil.

To achieve a great goal is rewarded with great satisfaction.  Goals, strategies, hard work and patience yield real rewards.  But Evil plots, crime, and violence are like an addiction that stupidity cannot withdraw from.

20 He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.

This I do know; I know people who are not my role models.  I can work with them, eat with them, and spend time with them.  But I need to spend time with people who understand my faith in God to encourage me.  Weekly meetings at church are not as good as when I can have more Christian friends.  But that time of fellowship is necessary, and I savor it.  If I had only unbelievers around me I would be tempted to drift off course with them.  bible study and prayer are my allies with Christian fellowship.  these are the Holy Trinity.

21 Evil pursueth sinners: but to the righteous good shall be repayed.

Seriously evil men have to look over their shoulders constantly for the enforcers.  Less serious offenders have to expect their words to trap them in a lie.  Something is always waiting to deliver cheaters to the judge.  Those who work to help others, and avoid hurting others by crime or sin have rewards in a clear conscience and blessings from God.  The fear of the Lord is the beginning of this wisdom because we know that he sees us in action.  Belief builds prosperity.

22 A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children’s children: and the wealth of the sinner is laid up for the just.

My motivation to prosper in business is to pass on the comforts that my father left for me.  With God’s blessing I may yet be remembered as a good man.  If we live for greed and sin against man and God we should expect to lose what we have to other men.  How fitting that God has declared that such spoils will land in the ownership of righteous men after the sinner is gone.

23 Much food is in the tillage of the poor: but there is that is destroyed for want of judgment.

I am amazed at how rural people can stretch funds with gardening and hunting.  But even city people can often live well enough on limited means.  There are aid programs, shelters, and services  for the creative people.  We can learn from life and be contented with a little judgment.  Without some common sense even lottery winners can release a lot of assets in a short time.  Those who have enough to live can still find destruction by seeking entertainment, sex and drugs.  Sin offers many doors to hell.

24 He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.

If you are a good parent, you want to see your children live well.  You cannot let them eat poison or play in the street, even they may want to try everything.  If they try to go around you then you will have to pain them to restrain them.  You will use the rod often to repeat the lesson for memory.  If you do not have this enforcement you hate your children enough to let them die in their sins.

25 The righteous eateth to the satisfying of his soul: but the belly of the wicked shall want. 

Well my dog and I eat very well out here in the country.  Does that prove that I am righteous?  There is also the “bread of life” which is the wisdom of the bible.  We also need the nourishment of godly wisdom to satisfy our soul.  The rebellious people may be fat, but their soul is lacking a key spiritual nutrient.  Our nation is seeing a time when the wealthy hoard the prosperity and the power of what was once a democracy.  This has happened in the past, and the Bible demonstrates how God leaves a hunger in the greedy.

There is an adjustment that favors those homeless people who cry out to him.  The meek shall inherit the earth.

 

 

